God’s creativity

Have you ever felt a BLOCK when it comes to spending time in the Word? No desire to open it up or hear what God has to say through it? I have. More times than I’d like to admit.

It’s weird. I know that the scriptures are full of life and hope and all the good things I need. But sometimes I just don’t want it. I don’t read it. I actually resist spending time with God in his Word.

I’m sure there are many reasons for this resistance (spiritual oppression and flat-out sin being among them, but that’s a subject for another post). I’d rather focus today on 2 truths I’m super grateful for:

God pursues us.
And sometimes he gets creative.

Lately I’ve been experiencing that ugly resistance. And as I pass by my unopened Bible on my desk, I have silently asked God to help me. Change me. This morning he answered that prayer.

John graciously took 3 kids to 3 different schools this morning so I could have some extra time alone at home. I didn’t feel a desire to sit down and spend time in the Word but I knew I needed it. Badly. So I prayed that silent prayer again.

Two things immediately came to mind. My little book of postcards with pen and ink drawings on them (which I bought back in AUGUST because I thought I could benefit from coloring therapy and still have never cracked them open) and those new colored pencils I bought which my 6-year-old just spilled all over the bedroom floor.

Huh. OK.

I gathered those neglected things and sat down at my dining room table, poured some tea, and opened the back door. Then something else came to mind. Get your new tablet and download an audio Bible.

Huh. OK.

image

So for the next half hour I listened to Acts 13 several times in a row and colored tree trunks. Verse 42 grabbed me. After some people heard the gospel for the first time, they begged that they might hear more the following week. Begged!

So as I colored tree leaves, I repented that on most mornings, my heart does not beg for the gospel. And I felt God’s presence. And his grace.

God pursues us. He knows our fickle hearts and how lost we would be without him. Because of his great love for us, he draws us to himself. And sometimes he gets creative. Some mornings it might take colored pencils and tree trunks, but be encouraged. He will do whatever it takes to draw your heart close to his own.

One thought on “God’s creativity

Join the conversation

