For dropouts (and those who wish they could)

Ever feel like dropping out? Quitting? Turning in your notice? Leaving it all behind?

I have. My husband, has, too. Over the years when my husband has grown weary of his job, we brainstorm solutions. Some of those solutions have included working smarter or requesting a change in his job description. Other times the solution has been an actual job change.

Unknown-1But what do you do when you can’t change jobs? And when there’s no chance of change in the foreseeable future? When you’re so, so tired but you have to keep. on. walking??

Honest moment here: that’s what motherhood has felt like to me lately. A job I’m too tired to do and one that I can’t quit. Anybody else ever felt that way? (Please? I really hope I’m not the only one.)

Lately I’ve been accepting the fact that God has called me to a pretty tough job. And one that will presumably last for a while. I’ve accepted that fact, which is good, but I’ve forgotten something important: God has also promised to help me.

I’ve been feeling alone… like there’s no one to help… no one who cares… no one who really understands. If you’ve ever felt like that, then let me share with you what God reminded me of this morning. Here’s a little peek into a conversation I had with a guy named Isaiah who wrote some of the Bible a long time ago:

Me: I feel alone in this. Like God is not close to me or helping me.

Isaiah: Why would you ever complain, Lindsay, or whine, saying, “God has lost track of me. He doesn’t care what happens to me”?

Me: Um, because that’s the way I… feel??

Isaiah: Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening? God doesn’t come and go. God lasts. He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine. He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath. And he knows everything, inside and out.

Me: Oh, yeah. I guess I’ve forgotten who God is. I’ve just been so tired. So tired that I want to quit.

Isaiah: God energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts. For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles. They run and don’t get tired; they walk and don’t lag behind.

(For all of Isaiah’s words on the subject, see Isaiah 40:28-31. I used the Message translation.)

I’ve been feeling alone, but God has reminded me that he is right here in the middle of this with me. I’ve been feeling like no one understands, but God is assuring me that he knows and understands everything. I’ve been brainstorming solutions on how to survive, but God is telling me to wait upon him. I’ve been fearing the future, but God is telling me to trust him. I’ve been frantically looking around for help, but God is reminding me that he never gets tired and that he will give me fresh strength.

God gives fresh strength to dropouts.

Join me in letting that encouragement sink in today. Even when you feel like dropping out, especially when you feel like dropping out, try turning to God and waiting. He has promised to give you fresh strength.

FFF septemberHe has promised to help us.

If you’d like to leave a thought or a comment, I sure would love to read it. Please scroll down to bottom right-hand corner of the cream-colored box and click on the little comment bubble.

Linking up with Elizabeth and her First Friday Finds at mywordsandwonder.com.

 

31 Days Button - Fall

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “For dropouts (and those who wish they could)

  1. Thank you for sharing this today. As a bio mom and a foster mom, I am right there with you and have been questioning whether or not the foster part of mama is what God wants…doubting the bigger plan. After a discouraging meeting with Office of Children’s Services last Friday we learned that our wait to adopt may be made even longer (it’s been 15 months already…she’s only 19 months old) and that now our little one may be adopted by a family member who is suddenly interested (though not at all a good placement for any child). I’ve spent the past week peaking at the ‘easy life’ of giving up on that part of my life and letting go. It’s tempting to want to throw in the towel and walk (run) away back to the security of a family that is already ‘forever’…telling myself that perhaps we misunderstood God when He seemed to have made it clear to us that we were to adopt. Thank you for reminding me that God is in control (even when I feel as though I am fighting this fight alone and NO ONE knows what it is like), that He understands and gives strength to those who ‘wait upon the Lord’. When my young girls fight fear I tell them ‘the book is already written’…that God himself is the author and that in the end WE WIN! I needed to hear that myself (in so many words) today. Thank you for the reminder!

    • Sabrina, I totally know how you feel. I’ve begun to realize that being a foster parent is one of the hardest jobs in the world to have. I’ve been blessed to read about your journey, and will trust with you that God is the author of your story… your story and the stories of all your little ones. Praying that He will give you renewed strength today to do what he has called you to do…

Join the conversation

