Spiritual Fast Food

I haven’t been eating very well lately… and I’m not talking about food. I’m talking about a malnourished soul. My soul has been trying to survive on spiritual fast food and the effects are beginning to show.

Sonic slushiesI mean, there’s nothing wrong with the occasional junk food snack, is there? Like the bag of Honey Dijon Kettle Chips my husband left for me when he went out of town last week, hoping it would cheer me up? Or the half-price slushies I sometimes get my kids after school during Sonic’s “happy hour”?

Not too much damage done, I guess. Unless that’s all I’m eating. What if I tried to survive on kettle chips and slushies 3 meals a day? Yuck. I feel a little sick just thinking about it.

Yet that’s what I’ve been doing, spiritually speaking. Trying to survive on only kettle chips and slushies. A quick bite here, a run through the drive-through there. Yet not nourishing myself at all. And I’m beginning to feel sick in a spiritual way.

It started innocently enough. Our whole family is in the middle of major transitions. I’m trying to be a “good mom” to one kid adjusting to college, another adjusting to high school, and 2 more adjusting to preschool. I’m a little on the tired side.

It feels like I’ve been walking for a long, long time and I just want to lie down and rest. I can’t, so I start to grab things that I hope will give me the energy to keep walking. A novel here, a TV show there. Distractions. Fine every now and then.

Unless that’s all you’re eating.

A good friend asked me last week, “How are you managing all this?” To which I honestly answered, “With wine and chocolate.” Funny, I know, and a little bit true. But the wine and chocolate and engrossing TV series are just not giving me what I need to keep walking.

I read this the other day in The Message: “Don’t waste your energy striving for perishable food like that. Work for food that sticks with you, food that nourishes your lasting life, food that the Son of Man provides. He and what he does are guaranteed by God the Father to last” (John 6:27).

And then this: “Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread, and your labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourself in rich food. Incline your ear, and come to me; hear, that your soul may live…” (Isaiah 54:2-3, ESV).

That your soul may live. Think God is trying to tell me something? My soul is hungry, thirsty. And it needs real food and drink to keep walking.

Jesus says to you and to me, “I am the Bread of Life. The person who aligns with me hungers no more and thirsts no more, ever” (John 6:35).

I think I need some real food. I need what only Jesus offers. I’m going to turn off the TV and put the kettle chips on the top shelf for a while. I’m going to get up a little earlier and admit my need for Jesus. Open my Bible and see what he feeds me.

Because I need to keep walking and I’m tired of feeling sick. Know what I mean?

If you’d like to leave a thought or a comment, I sure would love to read it. Please scroll down to bottom right-hand corner of the cream-colored box and look for the little bubble with a + sign :).

 

One thought on “Spiritual Fast Food

Join the conversation

