Can I have a word?

I am searching for a word today. I’m a word person (I guess most writers are), but today I’m hunting for a particular word. Not a word for you, but a word for me. This word will not be used to express an idea to a reader, but it will express something specific to me. And I’m asking God to speak it.

I hope this isn’t presumptuous… asking God to speak a particular word to me. He’s given us a lot of words already in the scriptures, words that have a depth we will never be able to fully explore. More than that, God has given us the Word, Jesus, his logos, the representation of who God is. I shouldn’t need anything else. I don’t need anything else.

But there are times, in his grace, that God gives us specific words, too. Words meant particularly for us. He did that for Mary. After she received the visit from the angel in Luke 1 she said, “Behold, I am the servant of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.” Your word. This time Luke uses the word rhema, not logos. The word rhema means a specific word, a particular word for a particular person. Gabriel spoke God’s words for Mary alone.

That’s what I’m asking for. A particular word for me to begin a new year. A word that will help me arrange my decisions and give structure to the changes ahead. 2013 feels a bit to me like a train that ran out of control… lots of stress and making lots of important decisions on the fly. No doubt we learned much and God was certainly faithful in the middle of it all, but I’m hoping for a different picture in 2014. I don’t know what the coming year holds, but God does. So I’m asking for a word, a theme, to help me stay focused on what God wants me to learn and make decisions according to his will.

I don’t have the word yet, but I’m praying for it. I sense it will have something to do with intentionality rather than spontaneity. With action rather than reaction. With focusing on the basics rather than getting distracted with the extras. Maybe I’ll let you know when I receive it.

Any other word people out there? Have any experience with asking for a specific word from God?

18 thoughts on “Can I have a word?

  1. Love this! Last year God gave me 2 words for 2013. Just this morning, I heard 2 words for this year. I think it is a great thing to seek/cultivate.

  2. Absolutely, my friend! This is something I do every year…
    I’ve had the year of “no” (healing from co-dependency!!!), the year of “trust” (getting over fear), the year of “rest” (busy-ness addiction, anyone?), and this past year my word was “transformation.”
    It has been a PAINFUL year, of astounding, miraculous, rejoicing transformation.

    And so I pray & seek & listen, for what the Lord has for me in 2014.
    I’m lookin’ for a word too!

    • Love you and your words, my friend! I’d love to keep hearing more of what “transformation” looked like in your life this past year. And I look forward to what God will do in you in 2014!

  3. Yeah my word too is “grace”. About a month ago, God spoke that word specifically to me. In particular that 2014 is to be the year of grace. Really this rhema is just repeating His logos who came to bring “grace upon grace” (John 1:14-18).

    >

  4. A word…from God…for me! I want that! I’ve had plenty of words for God…to God..what I want, what I need (or think I need), but for God to tell me what he sees as my greatest need this year, that is what I want to know!

  5. Yes, one word, I like the simplicity of that. I will pray and listen for one for this new year. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is a privilege to read them.

  6. Hope….in his word, in his promises, in his will specifically for my family and myself. Jesus Calling for Jan 8 is all about hope…”hope in Me and you will be protected from depression and self pity.” I had written out all the Bible references on hope last year at the bottom of the page. Today I did a word search and found this: “Why am I so overwrought? Why am I so disturbed? Why can’t I just hope in God? Despite all my emotions I will believe and praise the One who saves me and is my life.” (Voice) Yet I have to admit my favorite quote on hope may still be from my 3 yr old son, many years ago. He overheard me say “there’s just no hope!” To which he responded as he walked on by, “there is cho hope!” 🙂

  7. Pingback: Back to the basics | kitchenstool

  8. Pingback: A less busy heart | kitchenstool

Join the conversation

