One day is enough

I’ve heard the saying for ages… just take one day at a time. I’ve heard it so many times that I’ve forgotten that it’s actually a wise statement. It comes from the Bible of course:

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. Matthew 6:34

Another version says, Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Isn’t that the truth. Lately I’ve been experiencing the reality that one day at a time is all I can handle. When I try to take on tomorrow and the next day, much less next week or next month, I begin to unravel. I have to come back again to this wisdom: take one day at a time.

I’ve been enjoying the simple words from the popular devotional Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. I read this recently:

Concentrate on keeping in step with Me, instead of trying to anticipate my plans for you. If you trust that my plans are to prosper you and not to harm you, you can relax and enjoy the present moment.

These words have been sinking deep into my soul as I try to apply them to my life. I’m always trying to anticipate what God is up to and what he is going to do next. I worry that he has something in mind that I don’t approve of. I try to plan, predict, prepare. I take on many, many more days than the one in front of me.

Tomorrow’s questions sound like, What does the future hold for my foster baby? How long will he be a part of our family? How am I going to handle the busyness of fall? What college will Sterling choose? Does God have an adoption in store for us or is our family complete? When I entertain those questions (Ok, I do more than entertain them. That sounds pleasant. I invite them over for dinner and then let them wander around my house at their whim and then sleep in my bed and keep me up all night. That is not entertaining.) Let me try again. When I worry about the answers to those questions, I step into God’s domain. I take on his responsibilities. I am worrying about tomorrow.

God has given us a great gift in taking our future in hand. He holds it and is taking care of it. Like Jeremiah reminds us, his plans are to prosper us and not harm us. If I can believe that, if I can trust God’s plans for me, for my kids, for our family, I can relax. I can, in fact, take one day at a time.

I can simply concern myself with today’s questions. They sound like, How can I best love my little foster baby and busy toddler today? What are the most important tasks that need my attention today? How can I disciple my teenagers well today? How can I show love to my husband today?

I think that’s enough to handle for one day, don’t you?

One thought on “One day is enough

  1. I have enjoyed catching up with you through your lovely writing, Lindsay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences. It is a joy to witness the ways you and your family are living out your faith. What a blessing you are.

Join the conversation

