Applying the gospel

We talk a lot about the gospel in our circles.  We want our churches to be gospel-centered, our marriages to be gospel-centered, our parenting to be gospel-centered, our entire lives to be gospel-centered.  But what does that really mean?  There are some great books and studies that help us “get at” what it means to place the gospel at the center of our lives (see resource tabs above).  But my study of the gospel lately has found me daily asking the question, “how do I apply the gospel here… and here… and here?”

My thoughts are running practical these days.  I want to understand how to apply the gospel in real time.  Like when my husband frustrates me or my kids disappoint me or I get a nasty email.  What then?  I want to apply the gospel in those everyday situations. (Ok, these usually don’t happen everyday, thankfully, but you get the idea.)

The blog posts here will relate to real-life situations… how to apply the gospel to everyday life.  My everyday life.  But my prayer is that these everyday questions and thoughts might help you to do the same.

2 thoughts on “Applying the gospel

  1. Yes! What does gospel-centered living look like in a world that presses hard to extinguish the gospel? Heavens, it tried to extinguish Jesus Himself! I find myself struggling to discern exactly what gospel-centered parenting looks like. Does “gospel-centered” mean your high school graduate must go to a Christian university? Does gospel-centered mean our middle schoolers have to go on a mission trip every summer? I find myself continuously asking, “What’s the right thing to do?”– like there is only 1 best answer.” Yet I know God is a God of tremendous variety and that makes me question whether there is only 1 right answer to any of these questions. While I always want to encourage our children in the right direction, I don’t want to become legalistic (you must do this…you must do that… or else.) Ugh! If only the haze from this sin-clouded world would stop making it so difficult to see!

  2. How to really live it, in the nitty-gritty of day-to-day busyness…THAT is the dilemma, right?
    Oh, if all my knowing could add up to DOing and BEing!
    And so we press on.

    Really glad to ‘hear’ your voice across the miles, my friend!

Join the conversation

